Research Guides: History: Articles

Article Databases

Journal Databases
Newspapers and Periodicals

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Information on the world's most influential people, allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Black Thought & Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals and magazines that can be used by novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, U.S. History offers coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines for use by novice historians and advanced academic researchers. World History offers coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Harper Magazine This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images from the 1857-1912 Harper's Weekly magazine covering the Civil War through the Gilded Age periods of American history.
Historical Periodicals Collection (AAS) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Gale In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a portal experience.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of about 500 newspapers that provide a broad yet sensitive depiction of the United States in the 1800s. Includes the New York Herald, Lynchburg Virginian, The Hawaiin Gazette, Rocky Mountain News (CO), Southern Illustrated News (VA), Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago) and Milwaukee Sentinel (WI), among others. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

History

Article Databases

Facebook

Newsletter